Rockland Areas Moved Into COVID “Yellow Zone”

Several Rockland areas have been newly-designated as COVID yellow-zone micro-clusters by the state. The state’s COVID map shows Suffern, Stony Point, Pearl River, New City and West Haverstraw now face new restrictions. They include a 25-person maximum on non-essential mass gatherings, if you’re dining out, there’s a four-person limit per table, though bars and restaurants could be subject to curfews, schools can stay open if state testing requirements are met, and houses of worship are restricted to 50% capacity. Changes go into effect Friday, schools would be affected Monday.

The North Rockland school district, meanwhile, had already decided to shut down and go all-remote starting Monday through January 19th. Stony Point supervisor Jim Monaghan says he understands the position the school is in…

None of Rockland’s other school districts has made a similar move to all -remote learning for the winter.

Snow Closings Updated Regularly

Please click on the image below to view all snow closings for Rockland County.