Election Day Coverage

Unofficial results:

Rockland County Executive: Republican incumbent Ed Day wins a second term with 54% of the vote to Democrat newcomer Maureen Porette’s 43%. (Porette had been leading til about 11:20; 11:40pm 2/3 vote in 50-47 Day winning)

Ramapo Supervisor: Democrat Michael Specht won with 60.7% over Republican Bill Weber’s 39.3%

Ramapo Town Council: the top two vote-getters were Democrats David Wanounou and Yitzchock Ullman.

Ramapo Highway Superintendent: Democrat Fredric Brinn beat Republican Robert Romanowski by a 2-1 margin.

Orangetown Supervisor: Republican Chris Day wins with 50.6% to Democrat and former supervisor Thom Kleiner’s 49.4% separated by 190 votes.

Orangetown town board: Incumbent Republicans Denis Troy and Thomas Diviny were re-elected.

Clarkstown Supervisor: Incumbent Republican George Hoehmann won with 56% of the vote over former Police Chief, Democrat Michael Sullivan, who had 44%.

Clarkstown Town Council, WARD 1: Frank Borelli defeated Ricky Sanchez by a margin of nearly 2-1.

Clarkstown Town Council, WARD 2: Democrat Daniel Caprara has a slim lead over Republican Peter Bradley…they were separated by 25 votes.

Clarkstown Town Council, WARD 3: Democrat Donald Franchino wins with 52% to Republican Adrienne Carey’s 48%

Clarkstown Town Council, WARD 4: Democrat Patrick Carroll wins with 53% to Republican John Noto’s 46%.

Clarkstown Town Clerk: Justin Sweet was the winner.

Clarkstown Town Justice: Scott Ugell and Craig Johns

Clarkstown Highway Superintendent: Frank DiZenzo won with 83%

Haverstraw Town Council: Republican Vincent Gamboli 50.7% over Democrat Isidro Cancel 49.3% separated by 131 votes

Haverstraw Town Justice: Ivonne Santos wins with 73%

Spring Valley Mayor: Alan Simon won with 2/3 of the vote over a number of candidates.

Spring Valley Trustee: the top two vote-getters were Asher Grossman and Eudson Tyson Francois.

Spring Valley Justice: Djinsad Desir and Jacquelin Millien were the top two vote-getters.

Suffern Trustee: Republicans Frank Hagen and Moira Hertzman were the top two vote-getters.

JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME COURT, 9TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT: Democrat Christie Acker wins with 58%

Rockland County Surrogate Court Judge: Democrat Keith Cornell wins with 49% of the vote over Republican Michael Koplen with 43% (Alden Wolfe with 7%)


Sloatsburg Amendment 1: End volunteer firefighter age limits to qualify for village pension credits: passed with 63.4%

Sloatsburg Amendment 2: Reduce age to start claiming firefighter pension to 60 from 65: passed with 55.3%

Stony Point Proposition 1: Rose Memorial Library No wins with 51.3% to 48.7%. 2,217 to 2,105.

Westchester County Executive: State Senator Democrat George Latimer defeated incumbent Republican Rob Astorino.

Orange County Executive: Incumbent Republican Steven Neuhaus has been re-elected as Orange County executive, defeating newcomer Democratic Patrick Davis.

Town of Palm Tree: a proposition to separate a portion of the Town of Monroe from Kiryas Joel passed with 83%.

Governor of New Jersey: Goldman Sachs executive and political newcomer Democrat Phil Murphy beat lieutenant governor Kim Guadagno to succeed Chris Christie as New Jersey’s governor.

NYC Mayor: Democrat Bill de Blasio cruised to re-election, fending off token opposition to win a second term as mayor.

Snow Closings Updated Regularly

Please click on the image below to view all snow closings for Rockland County.