Rockland Legislature Mortgage Tax Distributions

The Rockland County Legislature says a mortgage tax is collected whenever a mortgage is recorded with the County Clerk’s Office. The good news is that some of the proceeds are shared with the communities in which the property is located. The state & county each receive a portion and the County Clerk’s office receives a processing fee. Here are some of the distribution amounts for the tax collected from April through September: Clarkstown 2.4 million, Ramapo $2.2 million, Orangetown, $892,000; Haverstraw $362,000 and Stony Point $195, 000. Villages within each town get a share as well. Legislators voted 16-1 to authorize the Finance Commissioner to distribute the funds. The Rockland County Legislature’s Budget & Finance Committee will meet at 12:45 p.m. December 28 to set the 2017 tax rates. The full board will then meet to vote on adopting the rates. The meetings will be held in the Legislative Chambers at the Allison-Parris County Office Building at 11 New Hempstead Road in New City.

Snow Closings Updated Regularly

Please click on the image below to view all snow closings for Rockland County.